Event box

Adrienne Benson, author

Adrienne Benson, author of The Brightest Sun will givea talk and sell and sign her books. Books provided by The Winchester Book Gallery.

Marking the debut of a bright new literary talent, in the tradition of THE POISONWOOD BIBLE and LITTLE BEE, comes THE BRIGHTEST SUN, an affecting story set in Sub-Saharan Africa that follows three women in their search for home and family.

In this tender, moving story, three very different women grapple with motherhood, recalibrate their identities, and confront unexpected tragedies and triumphs. Leona, an isolated American anthropologist, births a baby girl in a remote Maasai village and must decide how she can be a mother, in spite of her own dark childhood. Jane, a lonely expat wife, follows her husband to the tropics, probing the dark mysteries of Liberia and learning just how fragile life is. Simi, a barren Massai woman must confront her infertility in a society that measures her worth in terms of her role as a mother.

Set in sub-Saharan Africa in the 1990s, THE BRIGHTEST SUN brings to life the striking Kenyan landscape as these three women search for home and family in places they never thought they could. As their lives intertwine in unexpected ways, each must face their own challenges and in doing so, they find there is strength traversing the arid landscapes of tenuous human connection. In beautiful, evocative prose, Adrienne Benson explores the heartbreak of loss and the struggle to find a sense of belonging, showing the surprising ways we can define our family and home.

 

Adrienne Benson was raised in Africa, and has called Kenya, Liberia, Zambia and the Ivory Coast home. A former Peace Corps volunteer, her work has appeared in The Washington Post, The Huffington Post, The Foreign Service Journal, as well a handful of literary journals. This is her first book, and she is currently at work on her second.

Date:
Tuesday, March 27, 2018
Time:
7:00pm - 8:00pm
Location:
Handley Robinson Auditorium
Campus:
Handley Library
Categories:
Performances & Lectures   Programs for Grown-Ups  

Event Organizer

Profile photo of Barbara Dickinson
Barbara Dickinson

Executive Director, Friends of HRL

Phone 540/662-9041 Ext 31

Email friends@handleyregional.org